Posts Archive

AGM 2017 results – Welcoming the 2018 Committee

Thank you to everybody who turned out for our AGM!

Minutes are being prepared and will be uploaded shortly (along with photos from today’s AGM and installation of our club banner / noticeboard on the South Oval courts).

The feedback session was extremely helpful in identifying what club members loved about their experience this year, and what they felt could be improved.

We also elected members of the 2018 committee, who are detailed below. We are looking forward to 2018!

  • President: Ming Han Yap
  • Vice-President: Samuel Walker
  • Treasurer: Andre Olivier
  • Competitions Coordinator: Jessica Barry
  • Social Officer: Matt Vestal
  • General Representatives: Shiyao Zhong, Simon Duffield, Yap Zhi Lin
  • Coach: Dillon Hammil



Thank you to all of those who nominated as it was a great sign of your commitment to participate in the club’s activities.

Here’s to a great year ahead!


IMPORTANT – Change in AGM start time

4 October 2017

The start time for the 2017 AGM has been moved back 1 hour to start at 1.00pm instead of 2.00pm.

The location (South Oval Tennis Courts) and day (Sunday 8 October) remain unchanged.

Regarding nominations for committee positions:

Please note that the club coach(es) for 2018 will be decided by the incumbent club committee.

For more information, please visit AGM 2017

Blood donor week

During #BloodDonorWeek, the ANU Tennis Club signed up to the Australian Red Cross Blood Service Red 25 group donor initiative! To make good on our commitment, we are trying to organise a time for members to donate in term 4!

Supplies for different blood groups have been quite low this year, and members are encouraged to roll up their sleeves for this important cause. 

To sign up, please visit Blood Donor Week


ALL current members of the ANU Tennis Club for 2017 MUST FILL IN THE FORM BELOW AS SOON AS POSSIBLE

This information is required as part of new regulations with our affiliation of Tennis ACT, which allows us to receive funding for equipment and club sessions.

Please only fill in the form once.

If you would like to know more about this initiative, please email us (click here).


Intervarsity 2017 – CHAMPIONS!

Congratulations to our stellar tennis team this year! WE WON!

Our team consisted of:

Rudi Johannes
Avishka Perera

Rashmi Chary
Ramiele Ching Thong

Sarah Waterhouse
Luke Jirman

It was a tough day, the rain aside, but the quality of UC was very high. Our team dug deep and fought bravely, and came away with a well deserved victory: 3-2. The saw many great rally’s and points which were truly great to witness. The club certainly has some talent in its mist!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you to all who participated this year and especially to our coach Dillon Hammill for organising the team.

For more upcoming events and tournaments be sure to follow us on Facebook and keep an eye out for updates.

Dinner of Champions!

On Friday 18 November the Club hosted its annual Dinner of Champions where we celebrate the year and those members who are leaving us. We wish all those leaving good luck and thank you. For all those members staying with us next year, or those looking to join, we look forward to seeing you for the last few sessions of the year.

The club will not be running dedicated sessions from December onward, until the February 2017. This is in line with the University calendar.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.